Fire department staffing, measured against the standard
Every curated New Jersey fire department, classified under the NFPA staffing standard that governs it and assessed only where a public source discloses actual on-duty staffing. Where it isn’t disclosed, we say so — we never substitute a roster count or a guess.
The transparency gap
22 of 28 (79%) publish no on-duty staffing figure at all- Meets baseline company staffing benchmark 2
- Below applicable company staffing benchmark 2
- Not publicly disclosed 21
- Insufficient public evidence 3
The bar shows how the assessments fall. A meets/below verdict is only possible when a department publishes an actual per-company on-duty figure — only 6 of 28publish any on-duty staffing at all. Where it isn’t published, the result is “not publicly disclosed,” never a guess. Roster headcount is never used as a substitute.
Of what's disclosed, how much is comparable
67% of disclosed figures- Meets baseline 2
- Below baseline 2
- Figure found, not comparable 2
Governing standard
Which NFPA deployment standard applies — from curated department type, never guessed.
- NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
- 19
- NFPA 1750:2026 · volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8)
- 4
- NFPA 1750:2026 · combination-department provisions
- 4
- NFPA 1750:2026 · applicability unresolved
- 1
All departments — search, filter, and compare
Filter by assessment, department type, or evidence availability. Each row expands to the operational facts found for that department.
| Governing provisions | Disclosed on-duty | Details | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlantic City Fire Department City of Atlantic City | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 5 facts · 3 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Bayonne Fire Department City of Bayonne | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 5 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Bloomfield Fire Department Township of Bloomfield | NFPA 1750:2026 · combination-department provisions | Below applicable company staffing benchmark | 3 per engine company (truck company 4) | 8 facts · 6 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Brick Township Fire District No. 1 Brick Township — Fire District No. 1 (southern township) | NFPA 1750:2026 · volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 4 facts · 3 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Brick Township Fire District No. 2 Brick Township — Fire District No. 2 (central township) | NFPA 1750:2026 · volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 3 facts · 2 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Brick Township Fire District No. 3 Brick Township — Fire District No. 3 (northern township) | NFPA 1750:2026 · volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 3 facts · 2 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Camden Fire Department City of Camden | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 6 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Cherry Hill Fire District No. 13 Cherry Hill Township — Fire District No. 13 (township-wide) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Below applicable company staffing benchmark | 3 per company (officially 3–4, incl. company officer) | 7 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Clifton Fire Department City of Clifton | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 7 facts · 5 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| East Orange Fire Department City of East Orange | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 4 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Edison Division of Fire Edison Township | NFPA 1750:2026 · combination-department provisions | Insufficient public evidence | 32 career on duty daily (department-wide) | 7 facts · 3 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Elizabeth Fire Department City of Elizabeth | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 7 facts · 5 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Hamilton Township Fire Division Township of Hamilton, Mercer County (unified Fire Division) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 6 facts · 5 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Hoboken Fire Department City of Hoboken (Division of Fire) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 6 facts · 3 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Jersey City Fire Department City of Jersey City (Dept. of Public Safety, Division of Fire) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Meets baseline company staffing benchmark | 4 per company | 6 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Lakewood Fire District No. 1 Lakewood Township — Fire District No. 1 (township-wide) | NFPA 1750:2026 · combination-department provisions | Insufficient public evidence | 12 career on duty per shift (3 officers + 9 firefighters) | 6 facts · 3 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Montclair Fire Department Township of Montclair (also covers Borough of Glen Ridge by interlocal agreement) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 6 facts · 2 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| New Brunswick Fire Department City of New Brunswick | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 4 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Newark Fire Division City of Newark (Dept. of Public Safety, Division of Fire) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 5 facts · 5 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| North Hudson Regional Fire & Rescue (NHRFR) North Bergen, Union City, Weehawken, West New York, Guttenberg (regional) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 4 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Passaic Fire Department City of Passaic | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 5 facts · 5 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Paterson Fire Department City of Paterson | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 5 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Perth Amboy Fire Department City of Perth Amboy | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Meets baseline company staffing benchmark | 4 per company | 6 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Plainfield Fire Division City of Plainfield | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 4 facts · 3 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Toms River Fire District No. 1 Toms River Township — Fire District No. 1 | NFPA 1750:2026 · volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 3 facts · 2 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Trenton Fire Department City of Trenton (Fire & Emergency Services) | NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6) | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 4 facts · 4 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Vineland Fire Department City of Vineland | NFPA 1750:2026 · combination-department provisions | Not publicly disclosed | No verified operational staffing figure found | 5 facts · 5 sources | 2026-07-16 | |
| Woodbridge Fire District No. 7 (Fords) Woodbridge Township — Fire District No. 7 (Fords) | NFPA 1750:2026 · applicability unresolved | Insufficient public evidence | No verified operational staffing figure found | 2 facts · 2 sources | 2026-07-16 |
NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.
Why this matters
- Fire chiefs & officers
- A clear, sourced staffing baseline for staffing cases and mutual-aid planning.
- Elected officials
- See what your department publishes about on-duty staffing — and what it doesn’t.
- Labor leaders
- A neutral, cited reference point for minimum-staffing discussions.
- Researchers
- Consistent, reproducible NFPA classification with every source linked.
- Insurers
- Deployment-transparency signal to complement ISO/PPC context.
- Attorneys
- Benchmark framing kept explicitly separate from any legal-adoption conclusion.
- Residents
- Plain-language answer to “is my fire department’s staffing disclosed?”
How we assess — and what we won’t do
- Benchmark edition. NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3). Career departments are measured against the baseline per-company minimum of 4; the elevated (5, urban/high-volume/geographically restricted or isolated) and maximal (6, dense-urban/high-hazard/tactical) minimums are not assessed without sourced zone/hazard evidence, and are never inferred.
- Governing provisions follow department type. Career → NFPA 1750:2026 career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6); volunteer → NFPA 1750:2026 volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8); combination → NFPA 1750:2026 combination-department provisions (career companies under Ch. 4–6); fire-district/unknown stay “NFPA 1750:2026 · applicability unresolved” until composition is sourced.
- Baseline staffing only. Effective response force (low 20/21, medium 28/29, high 42/43) and response-time objectives (turnout 80s fire / 60s EMS, travel 240/360/480/610s at ≥90%) are not assessed here. A “meets baseline” result is never a full-compliance claim.
- A verdict needs a cited on-duty figure. Minimum on-duty, per-company, or per-apparatus staffing from an official source. Roster headcount, station/apparatus counts, budget, ISO, SAFER, and population can never produce a verdict.
- Source quality is ranked. Official department/municipal pages and adopted budgets, ordinances, contracts, annual reports, and CPSE Standards of Cover are proof; news, social media, job postings, and third-party directories are context only, never a verdict.
- Benchmark, not mandate. NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus standard. No department is called legally noncompliant.
Sponsorship & editorial independence
- Sponsorship funds the work; it never buys a result. Funding cannot change a score, a verdict, the methodology, or which sources we use.
- Sponsors are shown only in clearly-labeled support slots, kept separate from analysis. They never appear inside a verdict, ranking, evidence card, or methodology finding.
- A sponsor’s own department (or a department it is affiliated with) receives no different treatment, verdict, or placement.
- Every value on the site stays sourced to a public record, or is marked “not publicly disclosed.” Sponsorship does not add, remove, or alter any data point.
- No sponsorship is active today. This structure exists so future support can never be mistaken for editorial influence.