Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Camden Fire Department
Career · City of Camden

Camden Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 04100↗

8/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2025. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (6 facts)
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    195 personnelVerified↗
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersVerified↗
  • Stations
    5 stationsPartial↗
  • Annual incidents/calls
    10000 calls/yrPartial↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $22,963,500 USDVerified↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    71,791 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$23.0MVerified↗
Fire S&W + OE

FY2025 adopted appropriation within CAPS: Fire-Salaries $22,593,500 + Fire-Other Expenses $370,000 = $22,963,500 (2024 comparatives $23,046,300 + $412,000). Extracted from the PDF text layer. EXCLUDES Bureau of Fire Prevention S&W $859,500 + OE $22,000 = $881,500 — the fire-official/prevention function, excluded to match peer records that likewise exclude their Uniform Fire Safety Act lines (Fire + Bureau of Fire Prevention = $23,845,000 on a broader basis). SUPERSEDES a prior $40,786,226 figure that was the 2024 UFB-7 FULLY-LOADED personnel total. DECISIVE PROOF it was never an appropriation: the UFB-7 fire pension estimate $7,740,781 EXACTLY equals the separate PFRS line (FCOA 36-475) on the same adopted budget — the benefits are appropriated elsewhere. STRUCTURAL NOTE: the Sheet 15 heading “Department of Police and Fire” is legacy naming; Camden's FIRE service remains a City department (195 city firefighters in UFB-7). The 2013 transfer to the Camden County Police Department affected POLICE only — the city's Police-Salaries line is a vestigial $37,300 with no full-time officers. Camden's comparatively low figure reflects a genuinely smaller, heavily cut department, not a data error.

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
320Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
195Verified↗
Volunteer members
0Verified↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
$4.4MVerified↗

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
5Partial↗
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
10,000Partial↗
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$1.2MVerified↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2024 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$558,000↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2023 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$632,882↗
  • Federal firehouse/equipment funding (reported) · 2024 · Firehouses and new equipment (news-reported package)$6,000,000↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

43/100Minimal3/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (no public source found)