Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Bayonne Fire Department
Career · City of Bayonne

Bayonne Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 09001↗

6/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (5 facts)
  • Union local
    FMBA Local 211Partial↗
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    178 personnelVerified↗
  • Stations
    5 stationsVerified↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $20,485,000 USDVerified↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    71,686 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$20.5MVerified↗
Fire S&W + OE

FY2025 adopted appropriation within CAPS: FIRE-UNIFORM S&W $20,030,000 + FIRE Other Expenses $455,000 = $20,485,000 (2024 comparatives $20,700,000 + $455,000). The 2025 LFRF ARPA Fire Uniform S&W sub-line is blank. EXCLUDES FIRE-NON-UNIFORM S&W $440,000, which sits under a different FCOA (25-242). RECONCILIATION: UFB-7 base pay $19,530,000 + overtime $500,000 = $20,030,000, exactly the S&W appropriation — confirming both documents describe the same department and that S&W is base+OT only. SUPERSEDES a prior $35,234,105 figure that was the UFB-7 FULLY-LOADED personnel total (base+OT+pension $7,226,100+health $5,448,870+taxes $2,529,135); those benefit components are appropriated in OTHER citywide FCOA lines, so that figure was never a fire appropriation. TRANSCRIPTION NOTE: every Bayonne budget PDF is a scanned image with no text layer; Sheet 15a was rendered and read visually, then independently re-read at 150 dpi — the exact base+OT reconciliation corroborates the digits.

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
286Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
178Verified↗
Volunteer members
No public source found
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
$500,000Verified↗

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
5Verified↗
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
No public source found
  • FEMA SAFER · 2012 · Firefighter staffing (EMW-2012-FH-00162)$2,828,770↗
  • Fire Station Construction (ARRA) · 2009 · Station construction (EMW-2009-FC-04845R)$3,567,490↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2010 · Equipment/apparatus (EMW-2010-FV-04779)$720,000↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2024 · Equipment/gear (EMW-2024-FG-02553)$63,636↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

43/100Minimal3/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (not published)