Fireground IndexPowered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Hamilton Township Fire Division
Career · Township of Hamilton, Mercer County (unified Fire Division)

Hamilton Township Fire Division

6/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (6 facts)
  • Union local
    FMBA Local 284 (officers)Partial
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    136 personnelVerified
  • Stations
    7 stationsVerified
  • Annual incidents/calls
    6959 calls/yrVerified
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $21,636,482 USDVerified
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    93,907 residentsVerified

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$21.6MVerified
Fire S&W + OE

FY2025 adopted “Fire Department” appropriation within CAPS: Salaries & Wages $20,001,745 + Other Expenses $1,634,737 = $21,636,482. Extracted from the PDF text layer (not OCR) and cross-checked against 2025 UFB-7 (base $16,901,745 + overtime $3,100,000 = $20,001,745, exactly the S&W line). SCOPE: S&W + OE only — pension/health sit in a combined police+fire PFRS line (FCOA 36-475) that cannot be split. FY2025 is used rather than FY2026 because the 2026 adopted PDF is a scanned image with no text layer (its Fire line reportedly reads $22,794,984 by visual transcription — NOT adopted here).

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
230Partial

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
136Verified
Volunteer members
No public source found
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
No public source found

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
7Verified
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
6,959Verified
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$291,344Verified
  • FEMA AFG · 2021 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant (EMW-2021-FG-05525) — post-consolidation, to the unified Fire Division$54,545
  • FEMA AFG (predecessor district) · 2015 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant (EMW-2015-FO-07298) — to former Fire District 4, before the 2021 consolidation$136,413
  • FEMA AFG (predecessor district) · 2015 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant (EMW-2015-FO-05158) — to former Fire District 7 (Nottingham), before the 2021 consolidation$100,386

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

71/100Partial5/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (not published)