Fireground IndexPowered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Toms River Fire District No. 1
Fire district · Toms River Township — Fire District No. 1

Toms River Fire District No. 1

4/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2025. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8)
NFPA 1750:2026, volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing NFPA 1750:2026 volunteer-department provisions apply, but no public source discloses operational on-duty staffing, so no verdict is reached. Roster/membership counts are not on-duty staffing and are not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Volunteer-department assessment additionally requires demand-zone / assembled-force criteria, not assessed here. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (3 facts)
  • Career / volunteer / combination
    volunteerVerified
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    0 personnelPartial
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $8,973,990 USDVerified

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$9.0MVerified
Fire district adopted budget

District No. 1 appropriations; amount raised by taxation $6,686,590.14. District No. 2 is a separate budget ($4.43M) and is NOT summed here.

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
No public source found

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
0Partial
Volunteer members
No public source found
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
No public source found

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
No public source found
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
3Partial
Effective year
2,014Verified

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
No public source found
  • FEMA SAFER · 2021 · Volunteer recruitment & retention (EMW-2021-FF-01418)$508,256

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

57/100Partial4/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published (no public source found)
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published
  • Annual report published
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (no public source found)