Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Elizabeth Fire Department
Career · City of Elizabeth

Elizabeth Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 20004↗

9/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (7 facts)
  • Authorized uniformed strengthroster, not on-duty staffing
    270 budgeted full-time positions (incl. superior officers)Verified↗
  • Union local
    IAFF Local 2040 (Elizabeth Fire Officers Association)Partial↗
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    270 personnelVerified↗
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersPartial↗
  • Stations
    7 stationsPartial↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $41,219,816 USDVerified↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    140,401 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$41.2MVerified↗
Fire S&W + OE

SFY2026 (July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026) adopted appropriation within CAPS: Fire Department Salaries & Wages $39,799,316 + Other Expenses $1,420,500 = $41,219,816. Elizabeth budgets on a STATE FISCAL YEAR. The SFY2026 PDF is a pure scanned image (zero embedded fonts) — Sheet 15h was rendered at 150 dpi to locate it, then re-rendered at 300 dpi and read visually. VALIDATION OF THE VISUAL READ: the scan's SFY2025 comparative ($40,047,975 / $918,500) exactly matches the SFY2025 adopted budget, which DOES have a text layer and was read directly (SFY2025 total $40,966,475). EXCLUDES “Uniform Fire Safety” (same FCOA 25-265, but a distinct code-enforcement line: OE $61,750, no salaries) to match peers — note Elizabeth's fire-prevention personnel appear to be paid inside the Fire Department S&W line and cannot be separated from the published document. Also excludes EMS, which Elizabeth runs as a separate FCOA 25-260 department. SUPERSEDES $54,512,309, the FY2025 UFB-7 fully-loaded total (components sum exactly); its pension stack sits in citywide police+fire lines (PFRS FCOA 36-475 $26,143,400).

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
$5.1MPartial↗
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
294Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
270Verified↗
Volunteer members
0Partial↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
$2.1MVerified↗

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
7Partial↗
Apparatus
10Partial↗
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$5.0MVerified↗
  • FEMA SAFER · 2015 · Hire/retain firefighters (CFDA 97.083)$5,049,612↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

57/100Partial4/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published
  • ISO/PPC published (not published)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (not published)