Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Newark Fire Division
Career · City of Newark (Dept. of Public Safety, Division of Fire)

Newark Fire Division

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 07140↗

7/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2024. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (5 facts)
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersVerified↗
  • Stations
    15 stationsPartial↗
  • Annual incidents/calls
    16720 calls/yrVerified↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $90,256,550 USDVerified↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    311,549 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$90.3MVerified↗
Fire S&W + OE

Sprint 7 refresh — replaces a 14-year-stale 2011 figure ($64,385,230). FY2024 adopted “Division of Fire” appropriation, FCOA 25-265: Salaries & Wages $89,098,050 + Other Expenses $1,158,500 = $90,256,550. Extracted from the official adopted-budget XLSM (openpyxl) and corroborated by the workbook’s machine-generated Key Metrics tab. EXCLUDES Uniform Fire Safety Act (FCOA 08-130, $398,700), OEM (25-252) and shared DPS vehicle leasing (30-411). The 2025 budget is published only as a User-Friendly Budget that books Police+Fire jointly under FCOA 25 and exposes Fire only as a fully-loaded UFB-7 personnel line ($115.3M) — not an appropriation; the 2024 adopted 25-265 line is the correct current value. 2026 is only introduced.

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
290Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
No public source found
Volunteer members
0Verified↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
$2.0MStale↗

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
15Partial↗
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
16,720Verified↗
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$7.1MVerified↗
  • FEMA SAFER · 2022 · Staffing for Adequate Fire & Emergency Response$5,346,640↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2023 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$1,084,604↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2024 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$603,098↗
  • FEMA FP&S · 2021 · Fire Prevention & Safety$78,906↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

57/100Partial4/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published
  • ISO/PPC published (not published)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (not published)