Fireground IndexPowered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Brick Township Fire District No. 1
Fire district · Brick Township — Fire District No. 1 (southern township)

Brick Township Fire District No. 1

5/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8)
NFPA 1750:2026, volunteer-department provisions (Ch. 7–8)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing NFPA 1750:2026 volunteer-department provisions apply, but no public source discloses operational on-duty staffing, so no verdict is reached. Roster/membership counts are not on-duty staffing and are not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Volunteer-department assessment additionally requires demand-zone / assembled-force criteria, not assessed here. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (4 facts)
  • Career / volunteer / combination
    volunteerVerified
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    54 membersPartial
  • Stations
    2 stationsVerified
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $3,185,500 USDVerified

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$3.2MVerified
Fire district adopted budget

FY2026 (Jan 1–Dec 31, 2026) adopted fire district budget — TOTAL APPROPRIATIONS $3,185,500 (prior year $3,581,337, −11.1%). Confirmed by the adoption resolution (page C-8) adopted at an open public meeting on 2026-01-05 by a recorded 5-Aye vote, and DCA-certified 2026-03-13. Reconciles: tax levy $2,825,000 + revenues/fund balance utilized $360,500 = $3,185,500. SUPERSEDES the FY2021 Patch news figure ($2,528,945). CITATION NOTE: brickfire.org serves District budgets through a client-side Wix File Share widget; the PDF's own URL is token-gated and expires, so the durable public citation is the District 1 › Financials › 2026 folder deep-link above (verified reachable). Adopted budgets for 2020–2026 are all posted there.

Department revenue
$2.8MVerified
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
No public source found

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
No public source found
Volunteer members
54Partial
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
No public source found

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
2Verified
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
No public source found

No public grant records found.

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

43/100Minimal3/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published
  • Grant data found (not published)
  • Form 990 found (not published)