Fireground IndexPowered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Passaic Fire Department
Career · City of Passaic

Passaic Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 16070

7/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (5 facts)
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    108 personnelVerified
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersVerified
  • Stations
    2 stationsPartial
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $12,497,900 USDVerified
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    70,730 residentsVerified

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$12.5MVerified
Fire S&W + OE

FY2026 adopted appropriation within CAPS: Fire Department Salaries & Wages $12,190,950 + Other Expenses $306,950 = $12,497,900. Read from the PDF text layer; the document is DocuSign-executed. THE “ROLLED INTO PUBLIC SAFETY” CLAIM IS FALSE: “PUBLIC SAFETY FUNCTIONS” is only a section HEADING that groups individually-itemized departments — Police (25-240), OEM (25-252), Fire (25-265) and Prosecutor (25-275) — and a discrete Fire Department 25-265 line with its own S&W and OE appears in every year checked (2024, 2025, 2026). NOTHING TO EXCLUDE: Passaic publishes no Uniform Fire Safety Act / Bureau of Fire Prevention appropriation (that phrase appears only in a dedicated-trust-fund rider), and no 25-242 or 25-251 line exists. ARP WRINKLE (matters for prior years): in 2024–2025 Passaic split fire salaries across the regular 25-265-1 S&W line AND a second “Salaries & Wages-ARP Funds” 25-265-1 line, so those years must be summed (2024 = $9,534,350 + $3,000,000 ARP + $282,100 OE = $12,816,450; 2025 = $13,388,500). By 2026 the ARP line is gone and fire S&W is a single clean line. SUPERSEDES $20,696,486, the 2024 UFB-7 fully-loaded total (components sum exactly, and its implied ~69% benefit loading matches Bayonne's 72%); benefits are appropriated in other citywide FCOA lines.

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
177Partial

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
108Verified
Volunteer members
0Verified
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
$1.0MVerified

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
2Partial
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
No public source found

No public grant records found.

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

29/100Minimal2/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found (no public source found)
  • Form 990 found (not published)