Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Atlantic City Fire Department
Career · City of Atlantic City

Atlantic City Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 01020↗

7/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (5 facts)
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    196 personnelVerified↗
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersVerified↗
  • Stations
    6 stationsPartial↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $24,215,701 USDVerified↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    38,497 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$24.2MVerified↗
Fire S&W + OE

FY2026 adopted appropriation within CAPS: Fire Salaries & Wages $23,503,385 + Other Expenses $712,316 = $24,215,701. Read from the PDF text layer. EXCLUDES two other lines that share FCOA 25-265 but are separately named: “Uniform Fire Safety Act” (S&W $1,741,909 + OE $41,134) — the fire-code-enforcement function, excluded to match peers — and “Fire Civilian” (S&W $214,412). Including Fire Civilian would give $24,430,113 (+0.9%); including both, $26,212,156. TRIPLE CROSS-VERIFIED: the 2026 sheet's 2025 comparative ($23,339,021 / $535,969) exactly matches the 2025 adopted budget (a scanned image, rendered and read visually), whose own 2024 comparative exactly matches the 2024 adopted budget. Verified series: 2024 $23,594,428 · 2025 $23,874,990 · 2026 $24,215,701. SUPERSEDES $35,397,003, which was the 2024 UFB-7 fully-loaded personnel total (its five components sum exactly); pension and health are appropriated elsewhere — Group Health FCOA 23-220 $41,080,000 and PFRS FCOA 36-475 $19,255,687 sit outside 25-265. SPENDING CAVEAT: Atlantic City transfers money out of fire S&W mid-year — 2025 was adopted at $23,339,021 but modified to $22,339,021 after transfers, so actual authority ran $1,000,000 below the adopted figure. State oversight (Municipal Stabilization and Recovery Act) leaves no visible mark on this line: it is presented in ordinary state format and the 2024→2026 series moves smoothly (+1.2%, +1.4%).

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
629Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
196Verified↗
Volunteer members
0Verified↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
$2.5MVerified↗

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
6Partial↗
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$2.0MVerified↗
  • FEMA SAFER · 2018 · Staffing for Adequate Fire & Emergency Response$984,733↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2017 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$771,741↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2024 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$280,623↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

43/100Minimal3/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (no public source found)