Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Hoboken Fire Department
Career · City of Hoboken (Division of Fire)

Hoboken Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 09005↗

10/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (6 facts)
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    127 personnelVerified↗
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersVerified↗
  • Stations
    4 stationsPartial↗
  • Annual incidents/calls
    5000 calls/yrVerified↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $20,415,053 USDVerified↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    60,419 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$20.4MVerified↗
Fire S&W + OE

CY2026 adopted appropriation within CAPS: Fire Salary & Wages $20,008,953 + Other Expenses $406,100 = $20,415,053. Hoboken's 25-265 line is unambiguous — it publishes NO Uniform Fire Safety Act appropriation and no civilian sub-line, so nothing is netted out (Uniform Fire Safety Act appears only as a revenue line, FCOA 08-106). CROSS-VERIFIED: this document's 2025 comparative ($19,915,146.02 / $385,000) exactly matches the independently-retrieved CY2025 adopted budget (verified directly at https://cdn.prod.website-files.com/58407e2ebca0e34c30a2d39c/68d5663bced70a0f9cf0bc7a_2025%20Adopted%20Budget%20and%20User%20Friendly%20Budget.pdf, Sheet 15d), whose CY2025 total is $20,300,146.02 — only 0.6% from the CY2026 figure. SUPERSEDES $33,241,128, the CY2025 UFB-7 fully-loaded total (components sum exactly); its pension sits in PFRS FCOA 36-475 ($12,993,000 citywide), outside 25-265. CITATION NOTE: Hoboken moved budget hosting to SharePoint, whose share links return an HTML login page to automated fetch; the stable public landing page is cited here, and the raw PDF resolves via the /_layouts/15/download.aspx?share=<TOKEN> form (tokens rotate, so they are not stored).

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
338Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
127Verified↗
Volunteer members
0Verified↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
$905,000Verified↗

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
4Partial↗
Apparatus
6Verified↗
Annual call volume
5,000Verified↗
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
Participates in the UASI Metro Urban Search & Rescue Strike Team and the NJ Regional Fireboat Task Force.Verified↗

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$1.3MVerified↗
  • FEMA SAFER · 2021 · Staffing for Adequate Fire & Emergency Response$1,177,988↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2023 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$64,364↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2022 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$47,124↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

57/100Partial4/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (no public source found)