Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Clifton Fire Department
Career · City of Clifton

Clifton Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 16020↗

9/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (7 facts)
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    140 personnelPartial↗
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersPartial↗
  • Stations
    6 stationsVerified↗
  • Annual incidents/calls
    5820 calls/yrPartial↗
  • EMS share of calls
    43% %Partial↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $17,569,500 USDVerified↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    90,296 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$17.6MVerified↗
Fire S&W + OE

Fire operating appropriation: S&W $16,805,000 + OE $636,500 (within CAPS) + $128,000 (excluded, offset by revenue). Excludes the citywide, un-split PFRS pension line.

Department revenue
$315,000Partial↗
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
195Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
140Partial↗
Volunteer members
0Partial↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
No public source found

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
6Verified↗
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
5,820Partial↗
EMS share of calls
43%Partial↗
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
No public source found

No public grant records found.

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

43/100Minimal3/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published (not published)
  • Call volume published (not published)
  • ISO/PPC published
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (not published)