Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/North Hudson Regional Fire & Rescue (NHRFR)
Career · North Bergen, Union City, Weehawken, West New York, Guttenberg (regional)

North Hudson Regional Fire & Rescue (NHRFR)

7/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (4 facts)
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersVerified↗
  • Stations
    14 stationsVerified↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $70,651,167 USDPartial↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    213,000 residentsPartial↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$70.7MPartial↗
Member contributions (reconstructed)

RECONSTRUCTED — NOT A PUBLISHED FIGURE. NHRFR publishes no budget: its site carries no budget PDF and no budget hearing/adoption notice (only a single 2020 agenda line “Resolution adopting a calendar budget for the year 2020”, with no amount and no published minutes), and NJ DCA's FAST portal is submission-only, so no public repository holds it. Each member instead appropriates its NHRFR contribution in its own CY2025 adopted budget, each line independently verified and internally reconciling (As Modified − Paid = Reserved): Union City $23,327,134 (FCOA 25-251, Sheet 20; adopted figure, up from $23,300,000 as introduced) + West New York $18,000,000 (FCOA 42-119; its separate NHRFR Debt Service line 45-941 is blank for 2025) + North Bergen $16,257,465 (FCOA 42-109, Sheet 22 Shared Service Agreements; scanned budget, rendered and read visually) + Weehawken $9,916,567.80 (FCOA 25-251, Sheet 20) + Guttenberg $3,150,000 (FCOA 42-120, Sheet 22) = $70,651,166.80. ALL FIVE members are accounted for — none missing. TWO CAVEATS: (1) this is a LOWER BOUND on NHRFR's true adopted budget — it captures member contributions only, and NHRFR may hold grant, EMS-fee or surplus revenue no member appropriates; (2) there is NO consistent FCOA — two members book it as Fire (25-251) and three as a Shared Service Agreement (42-1xx) — so no single code finds all five. Not comparable to the Fire S&W+OE records: contributions fund NHRFR's FULL cost including its own pension/health, which a municipal S&W+OE line excludes. NHRFR's actual adopted budget is OPRA-requestable (the agency maintains an OPRA request page, cited here).

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
$1.4MPartial↗
Funding per resident
332Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
No public source found
Volunteer members
0Verified↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
No public source found

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
14Verified↗
Apparatus
15Partial↗
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$324,923Verified↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2021 · Equipment (filed under Town of West New York)$170,076↗
  • FEMA FP&S · 2018 · Fire Prevention & Safety$51,613↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

14/100Minimal1/7 items
  • Budget published (no public source found)
  • Staffing published (not published)
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (not published)