Fireground IndexPowered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Trenton Fire Department
Career · City of Trenton (Fire & Emergency Services)

Trenton Fire Department

NJ DCA/NJFIRS FDID 11070

5/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2024. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (4 facts)
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    226 personnelPartial
  • Stations
    7 stationsPartial
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $29,937,536 USDVerified
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    90,871 residentsVerified

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$29.9MVerified
Fire S&W + OE

CY2024 adopted appropriation within CAPS: Fire-SW $29,224,174.54 + Fire-OE $713,361.00 = $29,937,535.54 (stored rounded). Read from the PDF text layer; the document carries a CERTIFICATION OF ADOPTED BUDGET. These are the only two 25-265 lines in the budget — Trenton carves out no Bureau of Fire Prevention / Uniform Fire Safety Act appropriation, so nothing is netted out. DECISIVE RECONCILIATION (the strongest in the dataset): CY2024 UFB-7 base pay $24,442,311 + overtime $5,872,336 = $30,314,647, which EXACTLY equals Fire-SW in the CY2024 INTRODUCED budget ($30,314,647) — and the same identity holds for Police as a control (UFB-7 $35,330,018 = introduced Police-SW 25-240 $35,330,018). This proves UFB-7 base+OT IS the S&W appropriation line, and therefore that UFB-7's pension ($7,252,645) + health ($8,274,784) + employment taxes ($494,610) are additive estimates appropriated elsewhere (PFRS FCOA 36-475 $16,613,766; Health Insurance FCOA 23-220 $43,066,983). It also explains why the same test only APPROXIMATES in peer cities: the UFB is built from the INTRODUCED budget, and Council reduced Fire-SW by $1,090,472.46 before adoption without the UFB being re-issued. The ADOPTED $29,937,536 is the correct appropriation. EXCLUDES: CAP Waiver S/W FCOA 25-242 ($9,001,846, citywide and not fire-specific), Emergency Management 25-252, EMS 25-261, Police 25-240; “Public Fire Protection” 31-445 has no CY2024 amount and “Fire Hydrant Services” 08-504 is a water-utility revenue.

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
329Partial

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
226Partial
Volunteer members
No public source found
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
No public source found
Overtime spend
No public source found

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
7Partial
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
No public source found
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$257,368Verified
  • FEMA AFG · 2021 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$226,940
  • FEMA AFG · 2024 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant — equipment$30,428
  • FEMA SAFER (reported) · 2015 · Retain 59 firefighters + fund 5 entry-level (news-reported; not confirmed in OpenFEMA)$13,204,000

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

43/100Minimal3/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published (no public source found)
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (no public source found)