Fireground Index™Powered by Fireground Analytics
New Jersey/Department Intelligence/Montclair Fire Department
Career · Township of Montclair (also covers Borough of Glen Ridge by interlocal agreement)

Montclair Fire Department

8/22 evidence fields have a public source · latest source 2026. Blank fields mean no public source was found — never that a value is zero.

NFPA Staffing Benchmark

Staffing-only · not a response-time or legal assessment
Governing benchmark
NFPA 1750:2026 · career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6)
NFPA 1750:2026, career-department provisions (Ch. 4–6, §1.3)↗
Baseline minimum: 4 on-duty per company (baseline)
Higher (zone/hazard) minimum: not assessed (needs sourced zone/hazard evidence)
Publicly reported on-duty staffing

Not publicly disclosed — no cited on-duty figure. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used here.

Assessment · baseline company staffing
Not publicly disclosed

The governing standard is NFPA 1750:2026 (career-department provisions, Ch. 4–6), but no public source discloses actual on-duty staffing (minimum on-duty, per company, or per apparatus), so no meets/below verdict can be reached. Roster headcount is not on-duty staffing and is not used.

Not assessed
  • Higher-risk (zone/hazard) staffing requirement not assessed
  • Effective response force not assessed
  • Response-time performance not assessed

Requires a cited public source stating minimum on-duty staffing or staffing per company. Higher zone/risk company minimums (elevated 5, maximal 6), the effective response force, and response-time objectives were not assessed.

NFPA 1750:2026 is a consensus deployment standard, not automatically a legal mandate. A department is legally bound only where its Authority Having Jurisdiction has adopted it. This assesses baseline company staffing only — not higher zone/risk staffing, effective response force, or response-time performance — and is not a legal finding.

Operational facts found (6 facts)
  • Active roster — careerroster, not on-duty staffing
    70 personnelVerified↗
  • Active roster — volunteer / union membershiproster, not on-duty staffing
    0 membersPartial↗
  • Stations
    3 stationsVerified↗
  • Annual incidents/calls
    2522 calls/yrVerified↗
  • Adopted fire-department budget
    $10,836,424 USDPartial↗
  • Population / jurisdiction served
    40,341 residentsVerified↗

Funding

Public funding identified — blank means no public source found, not $0.

Operating budget
$10.8MPartial↗
Fire S&W + OE

2025 operating budget: Salaries & Wages $10,357,595 + Other Expenses $478,829 = $10,836,424. The study notes this EXCLUDES employee benefits, capital and facility expenses, so it is not full cost — Montclair Local separately cited the CFO at ~$20M all-in incl. benefits/overtime. Glen Ridge reimburses 8.9% (~$972,000).

Department revenue
No public source found
Donations / fundraising
No public source found
IRS Form 990 revenue
No public source found
Grants received
No public source found
Capital / apparatus
No public source found
Funding per resident
269Partial↗

Budget figures are public evidence, not fully normalized spending comparisons. Each figure is labelled with the basis it was published on — budgets are only comparable where the basis matches.

Staffing

Public staffing evidence — blank means no public source found.

Career staff
70Verified↗
Volunteer members
0Partial↗
Minimum staffing
No public source found
Station staffing
No public source found
Vacancies
7Verified↗
Overtime spend
No public source found

Readiness

Public readiness evidence.

Stations
3Verified↗
Apparatus
No public source found
Annual call volume
2,522Verified↗
EMS share of calls
No public source found
Avg response time
No public source found
Mutual-aid dependence
No public source found

ISO / PPC

ISO Public Protection Classification is not nationally complete; blank means no public rating found.

PPC rating
No public source found
Effective year
No public source found

Grants

Grant awards identified in public records — an empty list means none were found, not that none exist.

Total grants identified
$468,758Verified↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2021 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant (EMW-2021-FG-07955)$307,969↗
  • FEMA AFG · 2023 · Assistance to Firefighters Grant (EMW-2023-FG-07752)$160,789↗

Transparency

What this department publicly publishes — a data-availability measure, separate from any fire-outcome score.

57/100Partial4/7 items
  • Budget published
  • Staffing published
  • Call volume published
  • ISO/PPC published (no public source found)
  • Annual report published (no public source found)
  • Grant data found
  • Form 990 found (not published)